Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/10070/243630
Note: the high definition versions of some images are not available online, but may be Ordered
Full metadata record
DC FieldValueLanguage
dc.contributor.authorDoyle, Hannah Mariaen
dc.contributor.otherMcKenna, Hannah Mariaen
dc.date1938-08-30en
dc.date.accessioned2013-02-27T03:40:37Zen
dc.date.available2013-02-27T03:40:37Zen
dc.date.issued1857-01-01en
dc.identifier.urihttp://hdl.handle.net/10070/243630en
dc.relation.urihttp://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article4208073en
dc.subject.lcshWomen -- Suffrage -- Northern Territory -- Historyen
dc.titleHannah Doyleen
dc.typeBiographyen
dc.description.notesDate:1857en
dc.relation.relatestoJames, Barbara. Occupation : Citizen. The Story of the Northern Territory Women and the Vote (1894 – 1896), Darwin : Barbara James, 1995.en
dc.coverage.birthspatialIrelanden
dc.coverage.burialspatialMurray Bridge (S. Aust.)en
dc.coverage.deathspatialMurray Bridge (S. Aust.)en
dc.description.biographicalHannah McKinna, domestic, is listed as arriving into Adelaide on the immigrant ship Rodney from London on 8 December 1877. Hannah married Cornelius Doyle on 13 November 1879 in Adelaide. The 1891 census of the Northern Territory listed both Hannah and her husband Cornelius, Hannah listing her birthplace as Ireland. Cornelius worked for South Australian Railways, undertaking a position of Railway District Inspector. Hannah and Cornelius had two surviving children in the Northern Territory – Kathleen Francis born 29 June 1893 and Bartha Augustine born 2 September 1895. In 1895 when Hannah was 38, she was one of the 82 women who enrolled to vote after the franchise was granted to South Australian and Territory women in 1894. Her occupation was listed as "matron", although it is unclear if her profession was nursing, or if this position referred to her marital status. Hannah was taken off the Roll in the 1898 revision because the family left Palmerston to return to South Australia.en
dc.description.occupationPioneeren
dc.relation.localurihttp://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article4208073 ['House of Assembly', Northern Territory Times and Gazette, 30 September, 1898, p. 4.]en
dc.relation.incollectionTerritory Womenen
dc.relation.incommunityHistoryNTen
dc.identifier.geocode-18.0005560,134.8616582en
dc.view.styleterritorywomenen
dc.date.discovery1857-01-01en
Appears in Collections:Territory Women

Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
Show simple item record


Items in Territory Stories are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.